Shakespeare for Everyone


by Jean Giraudoux • directed by Joseph Small, assisted by Bev Lacy • September 28, 2003
Click here to return to Reading Series page.

 Jean Hyppolite Giraudoux (1882-1944) was born in Bellac and educated at the École Normale Supérieure in Paris, the University of Munich, and Harvard University. In 1910 he entered the French Foreign Service.  He became director of information of France in 1929 and briefly held a similar post under the government of Marshal Henri Philippe Pétain, the so-called Vichy regime. His witty, originally expressed works in an impressionistic style helped free French theatre from the restrictions of realism.  Giraudoux first won literary acclaim for several novels that appeared shortly after World War I, including My Friend from Limousin (1922) and Eglantine (1927). These were followed by such internationally successful plays as Siegfried (1928), Amphitryon 38 (1929), Intermezzo (1933), Tiger at the Gates (1935), Électre (1937), and Ondine (1939). Many of these were modern treatments of ancient Greek stories. The Apollo of Bellac was written in 1942. In 1943 he completed his last play, the satirical La folle de Chaillot, produced posthumously in 1945 and produced in the U.S. in 1947 as The Madwoman of Chaillot. A novel, La menteuse, was discovered in 1968 and published in English as The Lying Woman in 1972.


Nothing is ever so wrong in this world that a sensible woman can't set it right in the course of an afternoon.



The Street Singer

Joe Ryan


Ben Patch

The President

Paul Jackel*

The Baron

Dayle Vander Sande

The Flower Girl

Hannah Ensler-Rivel

The Shoelace Peddler

Hannah Ensler-Rivel

The Ragpicker

Nicole Potter*

The Deaf-Mute

Ed Borish*


Sarah Dandridge*

The Broker

Michael Gnat*

Dr. Jadin

Dan Snow*

The Prospector

Bev Lacy

Countess Aurelia

Ruth Kulerman*

The Police Sergeant

Anthony Bellov


Michael Alperin

The Sewer Man Ed Borish*


Roberta Germaine*


Vicki Hirsch*


Cynthia Eisemann

Blind Accordion Player

Dayle Vander Sande

Special thanks to Dominique Boyon, Nicolas Boyon, Lucie Chin, Chris Gibbons, Alwyn Nicholson, Frank Smith, Dayle Vander Sande and LSW-NYC.

*Member of Actors' Equity Association (AEA)

Back to Reading Series page.
Back to top